iOS 5.0.1 FAIL?!?!

I didn’t think it was possible to jack up a release right out of the gate faster than Google did with its native iOS Gmail app blunder. However, yesterday Apple +1’d Google with a turd of a release they’re calling iOS 5.0.1. Today Apple’s message boards are filling up faster than a Shell Mart giving away free gasoline. The Apple forums are filling with countless pages of users posting complaints that – not only did this update fail to fix the battery life issues on their iPhone – it made them worse!

What’s that you say? Oh no of course not…you know I would never make such a dastardly claim without having proof…wow, you’d think you would’ve learned to trust me by now. Don’t take my word for it, take a look for yourself. Here are some sample posts that I pulled from the Apple boards:

“since restoring iPhone 4 to 5.0.1 at 8am this morning, and turning off all setting, making my iPhone an iPod – 1hr and 47mins later im at 49% of battery”

“I seem to be losing battery life significantly after upgrading to iOS 5.0.1!!! Both my iPod4 and iPhone4! Before, I never noticed a problem. I even restarted my phone right after installing”

“Was running iOS 5.0 yesterday and had great battery life on my iPhone 4…. Update with OTA last night to iOS 5.0.1 and now just sitting at work and not surfing it is down to 55%. It has only been off the charger for 2 1/2 hours…. I haven’t even talked on it today. Wow Apple… what a fix!”

“After installing iOS 5 in my iPhone 4s I noticed that my battery was drying 1% for every 1Min 36Sec. I believe every 1hr 20 Min i will hzave to charge my mobile. And there is no option to downgrade to 5.0. Irritating.”

Yes have the same problem. Was looking forward to having normal battery life on my new phone, but the new 5.0.1 update actually made it worse. I’m about to throw away my iPhone and go back to a blackberry… At least the blackberry held its charge for 2 full days.

That is just the crumbs, there are plenty more just like these over at the Apple Forum

As we all know, information from message boards on the Internet are not always the most credible places there are to get verified truthful info, and it’s on very rare occasions that you will ever find me citing anything from a message board. What drew me to cite a message board this time is the due to the sheer magnitude of repeating complaints. This isn’t a handful of teenage Beiber clones that take really long showers and have mastered the art of one hand computing. This is hundreds of people from of different ages, skill sets, and genders all saying virtually the same thing. When these types of trends develop, you can feel pretty safe knowing that there is something to it.

The verdict is still out as to whether iOS 5.0.1 was good, bad or indifferent to battery performance. It is a known fact that Apple continually works to fix and improve its mobile OS; that’s not going to change now. I’d say it’s a pretty safe bet to assume if there is a problem with iOS 5.0.1, then 5.0.2 will be on its way to a developer near you very soon. That will be the definitive answer to the question in what seems to have become the trend of the day. I personally couldn’t tell you if I have been affected by poor battery performance due to an upgrade or patch; as I use my iPhone very heavily. As a result of my excessive usage, I’ve come to expect it. Ladies and gentleman, I can assure you without a shadow of a doubt that iRay is the battery killer for my iPhone – not iOS. Keep it Saucy…..

Leave a Reply

